ISDA Certification Requirements

To ensure the high level of professionalism that the market demands, all members applying for certification are required to submit to a certification process requiring a test of knowledge and a verification of skill.

  1. Experience Requirements

ISDA Members must have a minimum of two years of continuous experience as a security driver or executive protection specialist. The ISDA Certification Advisory Committee will be vetting a candidate’s experience based on the information supplied via the verification of experience form. Members must also verify (show proof of) First Responder Training: First Aid, CPR, and AED Training.

  1. ISDA Certification – Knowledge Test Requirements

Following the confirmation of experience, certification applicants are required to complete a study program followed by a test. The ISDA Security Driver Certification Study Guide is available for purchase online and download, to complete the online knowledge test.

  1. ISDA Certification Skills Requirements

The skills portion of the certification process is difficult and demanding. It requires a substantial commitment on the part of those applying for certification and those supplying training; however, for the certification to have value, there are no alternatives.

There are Two Certifications Available to members:

Tier One requires the addition of Surveillance Detection as a skill set.

For both Tier One and Two Certification, the member is required to provide verification of Protective Driver Training. The Protective Driving Training program attended must offer the ISDA Member a series of scientifically constructed exercises. Using scientific principles, the exercises must evaluate and measure a driving skill.

The ISDA Member skill level must meet the following standards:

In each of the above exercises, the Member must use a minimum of 80% of the vehicle’s capability within a specific timeframe. The 80% standard was developed by the original Scotti School and is derived from documents found in engineering white papers published by the Society of Automotive Engineers, ISO, and NHTSA. The standards for perception and reaction times are based on studies conducted by Dr. Marc Green.

  1. Medical Skills Requirements

The Tier Two and Tier One candidates must also provide documentation of Red Cross first aid, CPR, and AED training.

Tier One Candidates – Additional Requirement

Tier One candidates must verify that they have successfully completed a Surveillance Detection Training Program within five calendar years. The program attended must have been of a minimum of thirty (30) hours of training, of which 75% must be hands-on.